quitting the job.

Everytime I think about it my stomach turns to butterflies.  But, it has to be done.  This is the first time I have ever done something like this.  Is this really a smart thing to do?  Can’t really back out now.  The house is rented.  People are expecting us in Washington.  But I don’t really want to back out.  My future self is saying “C’mon, this is nothing compared to what is in store for you over the next year.  Just do it like you’re ripping off a band-aid!”

Ok, deep breaths.  Yes, I am giving notice.  No, I don’t have another job to go to, really.  No, we really don’t have a plan.  We just know we can’t stay here.  Thank you for everything you’ve done and the opportunity to work here.  Sorry.  Thank you.  Ok.

See, now that wasn’t so bad was it?  Wow, I really did it.  This is crazy.  This is really insane.  This is so unlike me.  I feel really alive right now.  This is wonderful.

I can’t believe I am not totally freaking out right now.  I guess that will happen when we are actually on the road, with no where to go but west.

This entry was posted in preparation. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to quitting the job.

  1. Ciara says:

    I have never considered doing something like this, but I love the idea of just taking a chance; stepping out on faith and seeing what happens. Like you said in one of your posts, what better time to do it than now?! I look forward to reading more and seeing how things go. Wish you well!

  2. I’m moving west right now too, to Washington as well. I’m only about a third of the way, but the excitement of not really knowing what’s going on is actually really exhilarating. Don’t worry, things tend to figure themselves out. Just enjoy the road. And don’t get stuck in Mitchell, SD.

  3. Esther says:

    I think what you’re doing is awesome! I think more people need to be brave and follow their passion 🙂

  4. Dad Russ says:

    We miss you verrrry much!!!
    Have a wonderful trip.
    Ma and Pa

Leave a Reply

